I have spent the better part of the week doing prep-work for my grade 6 home school curriculum. .. CHER has so many great books to make my wish list from, and Donna Young has an amazing set of printable info that is especially handy in keeping myself organized, and my thoughts organized. …. So as I am working on the finer details of my lists of lists (for which I am infamous for), I read an article on Dredge today about a German family who is being prosecuted because they home school.

Now, in Germany, it is illegal to home school your child.  You must attend public school, and adhere to their curriculum.  In Sweden, I do not know the semantics, but apparently there is a similar case in the courts.  In Canada, we are very fortunate to have a government that understands that education diversity is going to create a better country for future generations.  Well, that’s how I like to see it, anyhow. In British Columbia, we enjoy the most relaxed home school regulations in the country.  With that in mind, I have still been doing my due diligence and making sure that the government PLOs are my guidelines, in case my son decides to go back to school public style next fall.  But I must admit, I was surprised at the lack of variety in the PLO requirements. .. The children learn French in elementary, but it is not required after grade 5?  How can you have a bilingual country without the 2nd language being taught? That seems rather backwards to me.  The only science I saw in the PLOs had to do with earth/space.  Is there nothing else to study in general science?  I have added to my list of books physics, chemistry, engineering, nature/environmental science to give him a variety of topics to cover.  He is a science-minded kid, so he needs the science variety to keep him interested.   Math.  Now this is a very very extensive subject under the PLO–which isn’t a bad thing.  He will learn the basics of algebra, geometry, multiplying fractions and go into greater decimal depth, and more in-depth of units (million, billion, trillion).  I can remember being in advanced math, starting in middle school, so this is all pretty much what we did in advanced math.  English is also well-covered with literature, study of plays, creative writing, critical thinking… all things we learned in middle school back home. …  What I have also added to my curriculum for the year, just working out the details on working it into the plan,  is World History, World Geography, and Music Theory. …  All of these are very important, and World History/Geography go hand-in-hand.  Every child ought to know where Kenya is, where Ethiopia is, where Iran is, where Thailand and Madagascar are.   They may not remember the capitals as they are older, but when you hear current events on the news, you should at least be familiar with the region.

So, this, I find, is what I call a well-rounded education.  Yes, they do cover current events (and likely geographic location) in public school, they do cover cultural diversity in public school, etc, but so many of these topics go hand-in-hand, and should be taught as such.  Example: When learning about the history of civilizations, you are learning the culture, where they are geographically located, why people were drawn to that area (economics), the environmental hazards of such large civilizations, how it impacts agriculture, etc.  You have most of the subjects in just one history lesson. … You can also study the arts, their hieroglyphs, how they understood the stars/astronomy, as well.   It is an all-encompassing, invigorating way to study all of the subjects together, yet pick apart each subject and how it relates to this civilization, and how it has affected the world today.  The pyramids of Egypt–covers building materials and basic architecture of the time … it’s just a very different way to learn, but a more hands-on and real-life approach.

So, back to what I was mentioning earlier before I got side-tracked… In the Dredge article, you will see that the Obama administration as essentially ruled AGAINST educational freedom.  This is a detail that my American friends, family, and followers ought to take note on.  This is why I found the article so interesting–because governments are increasingly afraid of students who are NOT adhering to the garbage taught in public schools.  By garbage, I mean false history….and by garbage I mean that the children who are taught the US Constitution (Ron Paul has a great link on this), are being singled out as coming from families with domestic terrorists. …  This is not to go unnoticed.  Educational freedom is what will save the world.  Children who are educated on true history, the good and bad, who are educated at home are, in essence, better citizens.  They are more appreciative, in general, of the world around them and are more ecologically wise.  They are the protesters against environmentally damaging laws.  They are the students zipping through college courses at seemingly warp speed because they are not taught to recite, but to comprehend.  They are the creme de la creme, actively sought out by Ivy League schools.  They are social, and can hold thought-provoking conversations on world events.  They are very intelligent individuals, not the Neanderthals that the government wants everyone to think they are.  They are not cults, as the governments will like to accuse them of.  The families that home school are educational purists.  So what if religion is brought into the curriculum.  Is this not what a church does?  Educates  your child on religion? ( Except, in my case, I haven’t found a church in this area that teaches the Bible… which is a whole other blog issue LOL.)

So, until I am invaded by snipers, by DEA, by Interpol… for the sole reason of educating my child… I will continue on my merry little way teaching him in the best way that I can. … while my 2nd elder son enjoys his public school education–which for him has worked well so far. ….

