Home schooling is a science…. well, at first when you take a gander it really appears you need a degree to decipher all the different teaching styles, and then you think–can I just blend teaching styles?  Of course I can, I’m in charge.  

So I am working on a teaching plan (you teachers deserve some major kudos in the planning department) for my visual learner and stumbled upon this super cool site called Science Buddies.  I LOVE this site.  I especially love that it is not just a collection of varied level science fair projects, but that they are all hands-on science projects that I can work with in varied science fields.  The science of photography, music, physics, nature science, environmental science, biology, and the list goes on and on.  This is so perfect for my little science-minded 11yr old.  I don’t need them for science fairs, but they are great at-home science projects that are easy to do with stuff you can find around the house.  For example, you can measure meteorite impacts by using a box, flour, various sizes of round objects (marble, golf ball, baseball), and then use the impact measurements to discover how meteorite size affects the size of the crater.  Super cool, no?  

Image

 As a side note, I was also excited to see our local library fully embrace the home school niche market–even providing 2 open houses to review what the library can do, what books they have, and how they get the books you want but they don’t have (inter-library loans).   This is a most excellent way to find books–especially the first year when your child just wants to try home school, and see what it’s all about.  It is also a most excellent way to meet other home school families, and some of them will most likely be first-timers like myself.  

Let me add one more thing: NEVER  BAKE  WHILE  BLOGGING …  it doesn’t end well.

