Ok, maybe it’s just me, but shouldn’t video-editing software be as simple and user-friendly as photo-editing software? 

I’ve been trying all afternoon/evening to download video clips, grab some frames for a photo book, and create a DVD or few. … sounds easy, right? Shouldn’t take more than 3-4hrs?  UGH!  What a bloody process!

First of all, I have the Canon HG-10.. Not the video cam i wanted, but at the time, it was the staff purchase discount that got my husband’s eye… (can we say you get what you pay for?)  It is supposed to be a good camera, no?  First of all, here’s what I don’t like about it… as i take a quick side-step for a moment..  It’s got horrible, horrible night video recording capabilities… I thought when we first got this, we could video the kids trick or treating for the first time in the neighborhood we had just moved to… this was a few yrs ago… oh no, that wasn’t happening… the video feed is very slow in night movies…  so what was the point of this video cam again??  …   Secondly, until you actually read the manual, we didn’t know you needed a SEPARATE mini-card to actually record still-photos.  Dumb, no?  I mean, if you advertise your product to have still-photo capabilities, maybe you should make sure the sales staff let you know that you need the extra card–it’s extra commission $$$ for them if they get you to buy this photo card anyways.  …  so not only was i terribly disappointed in the night shooting… I am terribly disappointed in the lack of product knowledge at the time for this video cam…  the whole special staff purchase price shouldn’t be your only factor for picking a video cam… but try telling that to the persimonius (sp?)  husband…

Now, back to the video editing software. … I’m thinking you can just connect this baby to the computer via USB cable and download the files. … shouldn’t it be that simple??  OH, but no it’s not.. Microsoft Windows Media Player doesn’t recognize the video format (MTS ) that Canon is using for their product…  I’m not a huge micrsoft fan to begin with, so there’s another reason to diss them. …   

So Roxio Creator… they have a decent quick photo-editing program that I use from time to time when I don’t feel like going into the detail of Corel …   But their video-editing???   A bit less than so-so. .. My video feeds had serious delays when you “playback” the MTS files.. ((at least this program accepts MTS files))… terribly annoying when you need to see the video in real-time to catch the frame you want to grab for a still photo.  The import time is terribly slow–it took  something like 90mins to download 44 video clips that ranged in time from 30sec to 15/20mins. . Yes, i get that it’s a lot of MB of space that needs to be transferred, but it shouldn’t take THAT long to do it. 

Then I remembered I had this Pinnacle Studio 12 program I could download onto the laptop. .. it’s a more professional – style video editing program. … Cool, right?  Download time is faster… takes MTS files… you can add music.. grab frames for still-photos.. all the bells and whistles.. EXCEPT it has one “little” problem…The files don’t speak to each other.  Meaning?  I think some are speaking French while the others are speaking English. … Even though I made sure all the downloaded files and add-ons were on the same drive, I ran into problems 15mins into the use of this program.. and remembered why I hated it in the first place…  It freezes because for some bizarre reason, even after downloading the updates….  BUT I did get the chance to see that my dear darling persimonius husband decided to try recording still-photo mode when he needed to record in movie mode. …  UGH.. .makes my project a lot more difficult to sort out. …   you get the still photo, but the continuous voice feed.. grumble grumble grrr. …

So, three different video-editing programs, and three strikes… guess that means I’m out and the next batter is up to the plate.  Now  I have to find a good, proper, video-editing program that will take the stupid files Canon decided to format their video in. … AND do so in a user-friendly manner.   Will let you know when i find one that actually works like it should….

